Found a suspicious site? Let us know!
Posted by suziecue in Uncategorized on January 10th, 2007We are happy to take a look at a site which you think may be a fake. For example, this morning we got a message from a contributor (who unfortunately did not leave his email for us to respond):
www.postbank.nl is a fraudulent bank take note.
Normally our research team immediately investigates reported fakes. But in this case, we’re already well aware that Postbank is a legitimate financial institution, not a “fraudulent bank.”
So why might this anonymous writer believe that Postbank is a fraud? Frequently, advance fee fraud criminals will claim to be affiliated with a real bank (for example, Barclays, HSBC, Citibank, to name only a few). To help bolster that claim, they often create a web site which looks like the real bank. They’ll even set up an online account to “prove” that the $15,000,000 inheritance is sitting there just waiting for your transfer fee to release it. The small-time operators don’t have the skills to make fakes — they’ll just say
I work for Postbank, here’s their site postbank.nl, now of course this is top secret so u can not write to my work email, only to
Online articles about plane crashes, biographies of government officials, automobile manufacturers, and many more are all regularly abused by scammers claiming affiliation.
In this case, however, it’s not a confused victim who wrote us — it’s just a scammer trying to trick us into attacking a real bank. We traced his IP address and cross-referenced with a bunch of 419 spams. Luckily, aa419 is staffed by experts, not fools.

January 17th, 2007 at 9:27 am
Hello from Germany,
here is another fake bank / forwarding agent. They must be romanians and act on the german market trying to “sell” cars and Harley Davidsons for a low price. They tried to bullshit my brother in law who was trying to buy a car at a serious website called: http://www.autoscout24.de
The website the romanian criminals use to get the monfey is:
http://www.mobil-spedition.com/Contact.html
The eMail address of the individual who was writing to my brother in law is:
maybe you guys can help to catch these guys…
Regards from Germany
Olav
January 19th, 2007 at 2:17 pm
Hi Olav,
Thank you for letting us know about the site and the email account! The web site has been entered into our database of fakes (http://db.aa419.org/fakebanksview.php?key=12047). Unfortunately we are not able to catch the scammers, but if any law enforcement ever wants to get in touch with us for what information we have, we are happy to assist.
Good luck to your brother in his quest to buy a car, there are lots of scammers out there.
Susan